Master Class

Suggested themes

  • Is it possible to reconstitute the real through cinema without showing the reality?
  • How well is the film or isn't the shaping of the script?
  • Is the image making in Arab-African films up to the standard of the international cinema format?
  • How is the articulation created between Science and Art as for what is sensitive, imaginary and affective in the making of a filmic image?
  • What is modernity in African cinema?
  • Does modernity consider filmic praxis as an "instrument of revelation" whatever the medium is?
  • Is cinematographic creation in Africa and the Arab world freed from the geographical, cultural, patrimonial and religious affiliations that the filmmaker endures or from the aspirations that the viewer expects?
  • How to write and produce a cinematographic piece in Africa or in the Arab world using sensitive terms drawn from technological, concrete and practical data?
  • Should we express ourselves or let the film speak through? And in the first case, can we really free ourselves from the rules of the doing? Can we interpret a film by only trusting our own resentment, our own state of mind? And thereby, wouldn't that be a kind of betrayal of this piece of art?
  • Is the filmic narrative a way of controlling time? Or does time become human if it is introduced into a plot process likely to put it within the reach of the audience?
  • The perspectives behind cinema and audiovisual programs and the future of image and sound careers in southern countries.
  • Is film and audiovisual production considered a real profession in the absence of funding sources?

Speakers:

  • Tarak Ben Abdallah, Tunisian cinematographer based in Italy
  • Guy Chappoulié, Emeritus Professor, filmmaker and film theorist, founder and former director of the Ecole Supérieure d’Audiovisuel, Jean Jaurès University, Toulouse, France

Hamadi BOUABID
Head of the Master Class section



The Master Class section’s Pitch

uThe Carthage Film Festival of November 2021 is not only the favorite spot for different films, filmmakers and cinephiles to meet, but also the space for reflection and exchange, as well as the privileged setting to get acquainted with approaches of the authors and the actors of the filmic creation.

It is the occasion for a fruitful and generative dialogue where regular cinephiles of the Carthage Film Festival try to seize all the complexity of the emergence of one film which is no longer confined to the work of the author, but is in fact the material of a vision and the subject of a debate.

The fact that contemporary thinking is bearing the film as an object has generated some new behaviors and attitudes towards the filmic creation. This historical division is an undeniable fact, but is also too focused on the European and North American experience, which does not sufficiently account for the inventiveness of modernity and the invention of the future in any other region. The purpose is to give means of reflection on time and space in their polycentric dimension, history, geography and art combined.

On the basis that cinema secretes an imaginary that arouses other imaginaries, a prior question arises: Is this dynamic freed from the geographical, cultural, patrimonial and religious affiliations that the filmmaker endures or from the aspirations that the viewer expects?

However, which approaches and strategies should be adopted to let this imaginary be par excellence the source of renewal and sustainability of the Arab and African being and establish new conceptual spirits and smart and updated ways to manifest?

Without shielding ourselves into hermetic borders for fear of being diluted into the complex twists and turns of the new world order and the "holy" normalization, our appropriation of the technological device probably, even undoubtedly, places us in the modernity of the filmic praxis.

Hamadi BOUABID
Head of the Master Class section

Master Class

Thèmes proposés

  • Au cinéma est-il possible de reconstituer le réel, sans pour autant donner à voir la réalité ?
  • Dans quelle mesure le film est ou n’est pas la mise en forme du scénario ?
  • La fabrication de l’image dans les films arabo-africains est-elle au standard du format international du cinéma ?
  • Comment se crée l’articulation entre la Science et l’Art dans ce qu’il a de sensible, d’imaginaire et d’affect, dans la fabrication d’une image filmique ?
  • Qu’est-ce que la modernité dans le cinéma africain ?
  • La modernité considère-t-elle la praxis filmique, quel qu’en soit le support comme un "instrument de révélation" ?
  • La création cinématographique en Afrique et dans le monde Arabe est-elle affranchie du lieu géographique, de l’appartenance culturelle, patrimoniale et cultuelle du cinéaste et surtout des aspirations du spectateur ?
  • Comment écrire et réaliser une œuvre cinématographique en Afrique ou dans monde arabe en termes sensibles à partir de données technologiques, concrètes et matérielles ?
  • Doit-on s'exprimer ou exprimer le film ? Et dans le premier cas, peut-on réellement se libérer des règles du faire, peut-on interpréter un film en ne laissant cours qu'à son propre ressentiment, à son propre état d'âme ? Et ce faisant, ne serait-ce pas une sorte de trahison de ce produit de l’art ?
  • Le récit filmique est-il un mode de maîtrise du temps ? Ou bien le temps s’humanise-t-il, s’il est introduit dans un processus narratif susceptible de le mettre à la portée du spectateur ?
  • Perspectives de la formation en cinéma et audiovisuel et devenir des métiers de l’image et du son dans les pays du sud.
  • La production cinématographique et audiovisuelle constitue-t-elle un vrai métier en l’absence de sources de financement ?

Intervenants :

  • Tarak Ben Abdallah, Chef opérateur tunisien installé en Italie
  • Guy Chappoulié, Professeur émérite, cinéaste et théoricien du cinéma, fondateur et ancien directeur de l’Ecole Supérieure de l’Audiovisuel, Université Jean Jaurès, Toulouse, France

Hamadi BOUABID
Responsable de la section Master Class



Argumentaire de la section Master Class

Les Journées Cinématographiques de Carthage, (novembre 2021), ne sont pas seulement le lieu de prédilection de cette belle rencontre entre films, cinéastes et amateurs du cinéma, mais aussi l’espace de réflexion et d’échange, ainsi que l’enceinte privilégiée de faire connaissance avec les approches des auteurs et des acteurs du faire filmique.

L’occasion d’un dialogue fructueux où les cinéphiles fidèles aux JCC tentent de saisir toute la complexité de l’émergence du film, qui n’est plus seulement œuvre singulière d’un auteur, mais aussi, le matériau d’une vision et l’objet d’un débat. La prise en charge de l’objet film par la pensée contemporaine a engendré de nouveaux comportements dans le faire filmique, de nouvelles attitudes face à la création. C'est un fait indéniable, ce découpage historique ; mais trop centré sur l'expérience européenne et nord-américaine, ne rend pas compte suffisamment de l'invention de la modernité et du futur dans d'autres aires de civilisation. L’on veut dire par là, la réflexion sur le temps et l'espace en leur dimension polycentrique, histoire, géographie et art conjugués.

En partant du principe que le cinéma secrète un imaginaire, appelé à susciter d’autres imaginaires, une question préalable se pose : Une telle sève est-elle affranchie du lieu géographique, de l’appartenance culturelle, patrimoniale et cultuelle du cinéaste et surtout des aspirations du spectateur ?

Cependant, quelles démarches et quelles stratégies faudrait-il adopter pour que cet imaginaire, source par excellence de renouvellement et de pérennité de l’être Arabe et Africain puisse instaurer de nouveaux souffles conceptuels et des attitudes intelligentes du donner à voir ?

Sans pour autant nous cloisonner dans des frontières hermétiques, de peur d’être dilués dans les méandres complexes du nouvel ordre mondial et de la «sainte » normalisation, notre appropriation du dispositif technologique nous inscrit probablement, voire indubitablement dans la modernité de la praxis filmique…

Hamadi BOUABID
Responsable de la section Master Class